Author Topic: Beckhoff wire tag/labeling convention?  (Read 2420 times)

busarider29

• View Profile
Beckhoff wire tag/labeling convention?
« on: January 19, 2016, 04:07:24 PM »
I am new to Beckhoff PLC hardware.  I'm in the process of ordering components and drawing the prints.  I'm looking for norms/conventions that users use for wire labeling to/from the Beckhoff I/O as well as tagging the individual EtherCAT slices.  Beckhoff has a plethora of individual tags that you can purchase that snap onto the I/O slices, but I'm lost as to which ones to get, etc.  For our AB controlled machines, our typical practice is to label the wire to the I/O point as the specific physical I/O (I:02/04, I:02/05, etc...).

Archie

• Administrator
    • View Profile
    • AdvancedHMI
Re: Beckhoff wire tag/labeling convention?
« Reply #1 on: January 19, 2016, 09:47:38 PM »
Over the years I've developed a numbering system that resembles the AB SLC style addressing. I use this numbering for addressing within the program and also for wire numbers. This is the scheme I use:

- First 2 digits is node number. If it is local IO, these will be 0.
- Next 2 digits will be slot number
- Fifth digit is byte number. Will be 0 for 8 point or less digital cards.

For example:

%IX01050.0

would be a digital input rack node 01, slot 5, bit 0

Another example:

%QW02032    (I actually use %QW2032, but show the leading zero to make it easier to understand)

would be rack node 02, slot 03, and second analog output. Analogs generally use 2 bytes, so the last digit would be 0,2,4, etc

For wire numbering, I leave off the % and X, W, or B. So my wire number would be Q2032

You can see one advantage to this scheme is easy identification of where the address physically resides. Another advantage is this scheme is compatible with ARM based processors such as the CX8090, which only allow even number addresses.