Author Topic: Connecting CLX PLC to advancedHMI  (Read 1836 times)

jhaycee03

• View Profile
Connecting CLX PLC to advancedHMI
« on: October 03, 2018, 11:54:20 AM »
Hi There,

I'm new with PLC but I have some knowledge on VB. We are connecting our client PLC using only VPN access and remote. May I know what other details I need to connect it? They just give me the IP of the PLC and told me that they what to monitor a Tag Name. Is the PLC have an access to see their settings? I'm sorry for the ignorant question about PLC. Appreciate your help with this. Thanks in advance

dmroeder

• Global Moderator
    • View Profile
Re: Connecting CLX PLC to advancedHMI
« Reply #1 on: October 03, 2018, 12:50:58 PM »
The only things you really need to know as far as the PLC is concerned with connecting AdvancedHMI to it is:

-PLC IP Address
-The slot that the PLC is in within the chassis (*1)
-The Tag name that you want to read/write/connect-to (*2)

*1 - Since the CLX platform can have a processor in any slot of the chassis, if the processor is in a slot other than zero (uncommon), then you will need to specify the slot number.  Most people put the controller in slot 0, I just wanted to point this out.

*2 - Tags can be defined as "Controller Scope" (global) or "Program Scope" (local to the program).   Program scoped tags have to be handled a little bit different than Controller scoped tags.  I realize that this may add some unnecessary confusion, but it's good to be aware of how the tags are defined in the controller.

Have you had a look at the quick start guide?  It's a little out of date but the idea is the same.

edit: There is a newer quickstart guide in AdvancedHMI/Documents
« Last Edit: October 03, 2018, 12:59:08 PM by dmroeder »

bachphi

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: October 03, 2018, 03:41:00 PM »
Since it's remote access, you may need to portforwarding TCP/UDP 44818 and UDP port 2222 (Ethernet/IP).
Does the controllogix rack has 2 Enet cards ( local + remote)?