Author Topic: Best way to select a drink for an automated bar  (Read 5799 times)

wimsettj

• View Profile
Best way to select a drink for an automated bar
« on: April 24, 2014, 01:54:00 AM »
Archie, Thanks for this amazing HMI! It's great to see a good quality usable HMI that doesn't cost your first born child. I came across your software while looking for an HMI to use in an automated bar I am building. I am programming a SLC503 to control the drink dispensing and I am attempting to use your HMI to facilitate the drink selections.

I am new to AdvancedHMI and Visual Basic but have been working with RSLogix/Panelveiw and Wonderware HMIs for several years. I am still trying to figure out the capabilities of your HMI and VB but I am making progress. I have a question I hope you can help me with. My current plan is to use a form change button as the means to select a drink. Each drink would have its own button with the drink name on it. I've already built this much on my own.

My question is: Is it possible to use a single form as a "Drink Start/Stop" page and have each different drink selection button open this single form and transfer the drink name and some other info such as ingredients to Basic Labels and change the PLC address for the Start button to the selected drink's start bit? I know I could do this with a SuperTag in WonderWare but I'm not sure where to start with this software. How can I do this, or is there a better way?

Archie

• Administrator
    • View Profile
    • AdvancedHMI
Re: Best way to select a drink for an automated bar
« Reply #1 on: April 24, 2014, 08:03:12 AM »
There are a number of ways you can do this and some can get fairly complex. Here is an short example of one of the ways without getting too complicated.

- On your main form add a standard Windows Buttons for each drink
- Add a second form (Right click AdvancedHMI in Solution Explorer and select Add Windows Form) and name it DrinkStartStop