Author Topic: Unknow error 275 using RTA Automation 515RTAENI  (Read 7280 times)

Noe

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 205
    • View Profile
Unknow error 275 using RTA Automation 515RTAENI
« on: January 17, 2019, 06:44:32 PM »
Hi all. I created an app that allows me to print some information from the PLC. I was using EthernetIPforSLCMicroCom driver with no issue, the PLC is a MicroLogix 1500 LRC Series C with a 1761NET-ENI (Ethernet/IP to RS232 converter from Rockwell). Because the serious limitations on the NET-ENI (only 2 open sockets at the same time are possible) and in the need of connecting more devices to the PLC to exchange data, we installed a new device to substitute the NET-ENI, a RTA Automation 515RTAENI, which has a 6 sockets limit that will provide all the connectivity we need.

Problem is that now Advanced HMI cannot be used to communcate with the PLC (using v399yBeta14). I have tried EthernetIPforSLCMicroCom, EthernetIPforCLXCom, EthernetIPforPLC5Com and even SerialDf1overTcpForSLCMicroCom but no joy (see attached images).

First I had an error in the basic label with the legend "Unknow error 275". But after some time all I can get is "No response from forward open" with EthernetIPforSLCMicroCom (which was working fine with NET-ENI).

EthernetIPforCLXCom error is "No response from PLC 31.80.16.1, slot = 0"

EthernetIPforPLC5Com error is the same as EthernetIPforSLCMicroCom

SerialDf1overTcpForSLCMicroCom just wont throw anything at all


Have someone used these with Advanced HMI? I know NET-ENI is dead for Rockwell, so I guess someone will have to use it eventually. For us, the possibility to migrate the machine to a modern architecture is not feasible.

In case somebody wants, I can provide more information.

Phrog30

  • Guest
Re: Unknow error 275 using RTA Automation 515RTAENI
« Reply #1 on: January 17, 2019, 07:31:18 PM »
Two open connections? I thought it was five?

Archie

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5262
    • View Profile
    • AdvancedHMI
Re: Unknow error 275 using RTA Automation 515RTAENI
« Reply #2 on: January 17, 2019, 08:24:57 PM »
Probably the most useful information is to run a Wireshark capture while using the EthernetIPforSLCMicroCom driver.

Noe

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 205
    • View Profile
Re: Unknow error 275 using RTA Automation 515RTAENI
« Reply #3 on: January 18, 2019, 09:39:10 AM »
Two open connections? I thought it was five?

Yes, all the information I have found points to that, and my tests also. We even had problems to get online to monitor or make changes in the PLC if we had already two sockets used, you had to close the application or disconnect the HMI.

Noe

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 205
    • View Profile
Re: Unknow error 275 using RTA Automation 515RTAENI
« Reply #4 on: January 18, 2019, 09:41:11 AM »
Probably the most useful information is to run a Wireshark capture while using the EthernetIPforSLCMicroCom driver.

Let me install it and I will run a test again. Could you just point me out what I have to do with Wireshark? I personally never used it.

Phrog30

  • Guest
Re: Unknow error 275 using RTA Automation 515RTAENI
« Reply #5 on: January 18, 2019, 10:08:36 AM »
Two open connections? I thought it was five?

Yes, all the information I have found points to that, and my tests also. We even had problems to get online to monitor or make changes in the PLC if we had already two sockets used, you had to close the application or disconnect the HMI.

I looked it up, it's actually six.  Remember, RSLinx counts as a connection. 

Noe

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 205
    • View Profile
Re: Unknow error 275 using RTA Automation 515RTAENI
« Reply #6 on: January 18, 2019, 10:40:33 AM »
Two open connections? I thought it was five?

Yes, all the information I have found points to that, and my tests also. We even had problems to get online to monitor or make changes in the PLC if we had already two sockets used, you had to close the application or disconnect the HMI.

I looked it up, it's actually six.  Remember, RSLinx counts as a connection.

You are correct. Thing is that only two can be in and out. We always had problems when going online, I suppose is because the HMI and PLC both take the bi-directional sockets, but now we need to add a database application which will read and write data, so we are forced to upgrade to something like RTA, beacuse they can handle 6 bi-directional connections.

"The 515RTAENI Is Here to Save Your Legacy Systems
That’s right, Real Time Automation is here to save your customers with the 515RTAENI. It’s designed to be a replacement for the NET-ENI. Featuring browser based configuration and diagnostics, support for up to 6 TCP/IP connections in each direction. It also exposes additional data transfer options the NET-ENI never allowed. It encompasses many of the 1761-NET-ENI and the 1761-NET-ENIW features in one solution!"

https://www.rtaautomation.com/product/515rtaeni-n34/

Noe

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 205
    • View Profile
Re: Unknow error 275 using RTA Automation 515RTAENI
« Reply #7 on: January 18, 2019, 10:57:10 AM »
Probably the most useful information is to run a Wireshark capture while using the EthernetIPforSLCMicroCom driver.

It is friendly enough, hopefully this is what you need. The RTA device is 31.80.16.1, my laptop is 31.80.16.253, there is another PC acting like a HMI 31.80.16.2, a Tox servopress (which is not connected to the PLC by Ethernet, but to its software running in the HMI), and some other devices like a badge reader and a RTA TCP to Ethernet/IP device for user administration.

I used only a new project of AdvancedHMI with only EthernetIPforSLCMicroCom1 and a baseic label trying to read ST29:30. Let me know if you need the PLC project.

Noe

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 205
    • View Profile
Re: Unknow error 275 using RTA Automation 515RTAENI
« Reply #8 on: January 18, 2019, 11:03:16 AM »
Archie, I just found that the RTA device has a log tab, maybe these messages make some sense to you.

I also took a picture of the Ethernet tab which shows the open sockets and you can see 31.80.16.253 (my laptop running AdvancedHMI) being there.

Code: [Select]
0001|0:00:00.105|  rta_router.cpp:0069|0:0| rta_router_init
0002|0:00:00.140|rta_neteni_telne:0074|0:0| NETENI Telnet Started
0003|0:00:03.125|  rta_router.cpp:0189|0:0| rta_memory_get_max_heap_bytes_used 28
0004|0:00:03.135|  rta_router.cpp:0189|0:0| rta_memory_get_max_heap_bytes_used 1489
0005|0:00:03.225|  rta_router.cpp:0189|0:0| rta_memory_get_max_heap_bytes_used 1560
0006|0:00:03.415|  rta_router.cpp:0189|0:0| rta_memory_get_max_heap_bytes_used 1624
0007|0:00:03.525|  rta_router.cpp:0189|0:0| rta_memory_get_max_heap_bytes_used 1640
0008|0:00:03.865|  rta_router.cpp:0189|0:0| rta_memory_get_max_heap_bytes_used 1756
0009|0:00:21.845|  rta_router.cpp:0152|0:0| rta_usersock_process failed
0010|0:00:22.465|  rta_router.cpp:0189|0:0| rta_memory_get_max_heap_bytes_used 1832
0011|0:00:23.145|  rta_router.cpp:0189|0:0| rta_memory_get_max_heap_bytes_used 1840
0012|0:12:03.445|  rta_router.cpp:0189|0:0| rta_memory_get_max_heap_bytes_used 1868
0013|2:29:41.255|  rta_usersock.c:0782|0:0| TCP RX Timeout
0014|2:29:45.270|  rta_usersock.c:0782|0:0| TCP RX Timeout
0015|3:12:38.765|    formcode.cpp:4092|0:0| NETWORK page config changed
0016|3:12:39.365|  rta_router.cpp:0282|0:0| Re-initialized Serial Port
0017|3:12:39.365|  rta_router.cpp:0069|0:0| rta_router_init
0018|3:12:40.580|df1_fullduplex.c:0178|0:0| Serial RX Timeout
0019|3:12:41.580|df1_fullduplex.c:0178|0:0| Serial RX Timeout
0020|3:12:42.580|df1_fullduplex.c:0178|0:0| Serial RX Timeout
0021|3:12:44.395|df1_fullduplex.c:0438|0:0| Serial TX Timeout
0022|3:12:48.400|df1_fullduplex.c:0438|0:0| Serial TX Timeout
0023|3:12:52.405|df1_fullduplex.c:0438|0:0| Serial TX Timeout
0024|3:12:56.410|df1_fullduplex.c:0438|0:0| Serial TX Timeout
0025|3:13:00.415|df1_fullduplex.c:0438|0:0| Serial TX Timeout
0026|3:13:04.420|df1_fullduplex.c:0438|0:0| Serial TX Timeout
0027|3:13:08.225|    formcode.cpp:4092|0:0| NETWORK page config changed
0028|3:13:08.600|df1_fullduplex.c:0438|0:0| Serial TX Timeout
0029|3:13:08.860|  rta_router.cpp:0282|0:0| Re-initialized Serial Port
0030|3:13:08.860|  rta_router.cpp:0069|0:0| rta_router_init
0031|3:15:01.590|df1_fullduplex.c:0178|0:0| Serial RX Timeout
0032|3:15:04.595|df1_fullduplex.c:0438|0:0| Serial TX Timeout
0033|3:15:08.600|df1_fullduplex.c:0438|0:0| Serial TX Timeout
0034|3:15:12.605|df1_fullduplex.c:0438|0:0| Serial TX Timeout
0035|3:15:16.610|df1_fullduplex.c:0438|0:0| Serial TX Timeout
0036|3:15:20.515|    formcode.cpp:4092|0:0| NETWORK page config changed
0037|3:15:20.820|df1_fullduplex.c:0438|0:0| Serial TX Timeout
0038|3:15:21.095|  rta_router.cpp:0282|0:0| Re-initialized Serial Port
0039|3:15:21.095|  rta_router.cpp:0069|0:0| rta_router_init
0040|4:47:14.445|  rta_usersock.c:0782|0:0| TCP RX Timeout
0041|5:32:14.350|  rta_usersock.c:0782|0:0| TCP RX Timeout
0042|5:32:14.400|  rta_usersock.c:0782|0:0| TCP RX Timeout
0043|5:38:10.290|  rta_usersock.c:0782|0:0| TCP RX Timeout
0044|5:43:12.555|  rta_usersock.c:0782|0:0| TCP RX Timeout
0045|19:45:57.320|  rta_usersock.c:0782|0:0| TCP RX Timeout
0046|26:01:29.545|  rta_usersock.c:0782|0:0| TCP RX Timeout
0047|26:54:52.480|  rta_usersock.c:0782|0:0| TCP RX Timeout
0052|30:20:06.610|  rta_usersock.c:0782|0:0| TCP RX Timeout
0053|30:21:10.060|  rta_usersock.c:0782|0:0| TCP RX Timeout
0054|30:44:14.295|  rta_router.cpp:0152|0:0| rta_usersock_process failed
0055|30:44:14.300|  rta_router.cpp:0152|0:0| rta_usersock_process failed
0056|30:44:14.305|  rta_router.cpp:0152|0:0| rta_usersock_process failed
0057|30:44:14.310|  rta_router.cpp:0152|0:0| rta_usersock_process failed
0250|30:44:15.280|  rta_router.cpp:0152|0:0| rta_usersock_process failed

============================= END START LOG, BEGIN CIRCULAR LOG =============================

0251|30:44:15.285|  rta_router.cpp:0152|0:0| rta_usersock_process failed
0252|30:44:15.290|  rta_router.cpp:0152|0:0| rta_usersock_process failed
0253|30:44:15.295|  rta_router.cpp:0152|0:0| rta_usersock_process failed
0254|30:44:15.300|  rta_router.cpp:0152|0:0| rta_usersock_process failed

0346|30:46:16.955|  rta_usersock.c:0782|0:0| TCP RX Timeout
0347|30:46:58.150|  rta_usersock.c:0782|0:0| TCP RX Timeout

Archie

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5262
    • View Profile
    • AdvancedHMI
Re: Unknow error 275 using RTA Automation 515RTAENI
« Reply #9 on: January 18, 2019, 01:48:11 PM »
I see by the Wireshark that is does the connection, then successfully registers the Ethernet/IP session, but there is no response at the CIP level. The forward open request specifies a route path to a backplane then to slot 0, which is what I suspect is the problem.. Are you using EthernerIPforSLCMicro or the EthernetIPforCLXCom?

Noe

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 205
    • View Profile
Re: Unknow error 275 using RTA Automation 515RTAENI
« Reply #10 on: January 18, 2019, 02:07:28 PM »
EthernetIPforSLCMicroCom

Archie

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5262
    • View Profile
    • AdvancedHMI
Re: Unknow error 275 using RTA Automation 515RTAENI
« Reply #11 on: January 18, 2019, 02:53:13 PM »
Try the attached patch

- Download the attached file
- Open your project in VS
- In Solution Explorer expand down the AdvancedHMIDrivers project
- Right click the Support folder and select Add->Existing Item
- Browse to and select the file you downloaded (Be sure it asks to replace the existing)
- Rebuild the solution

If it doesn't work, do another Wireshark capture

bachphi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 642
    • View Profile
Re: Unknow error 275 using RTA Automation 515RTAENI
« Reply #12 on: January 19, 2019, 08:32:46 AM »
I would double check the settings of RTAENI, things like STX, ETX start & termination chars.
I have not used RTAENI in particular, but others like 435NBX & 490. In those models, you can see the data coming by keep refreshing the browser page. Also RTA support is very good as well.
===================================================
This is NOT alt.read.my.mind.
No such thing is sh^t-for-brains unless you are posting to alt.read.my.mind.
===================================================

Noe

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 205
    • View Profile
Re: Unknow error 275 using RTA Automation 515RTAENI
« Reply #13 on: January 19, 2019, 09:31:10 AM »
Try the attached patch

- Download the attached file
- Open your project in VS
- In Solution Explorer expand down the AdvancedHMIDrivers project
- Right click the Support folder and select Add->Existing Item
- Browse to and select the file you downloaded (Be sure it asks to replace the existing)
- Rebuild the solution

If it doesn't work, do another Wireshark capture

Thank you very much Archie!! I tested it with a basic label reading a string and reading a bit, so far so good! Let me check with writes and will report back.

You are really good!

Noe

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 205
    • View Profile
Re: Unknow error 275 using RTA Automation 515RTAENI
« Reply #14 on: January 19, 2019, 09:36:17 AM »
I would double check the settings of RTAENI, things like STX, ETX start & termination chars.
I have not used RTAENI in particular, but others like 435NBX & 490. In those models, you can see the data coming by keep refreshing the browser page. Also RTA support is very good as well.

Sounds like you mean if this device was an ASCII protocol. In that case, is not, it uses DF1 encapsulated in TCP, at least is how I understand it works, very similar to Rockwell's NET-ENI.