Author Topic: Control Logix ReadRaw with Rockwell Plant Pax AOIs  (Read 890 times)

AllenBradleyTagReader

• View Profile
Control Logix ReadRaw with Rockwell Plant Pax AOIs
« on: April 02, 2019, 09:30:09 PM »
Hello,

First of all thank you for your time and energy you have put in to Advanced HMI and released for the world to build on. It is truly impressive. I am just getting started but it looks like it is going to be infinitely superior to my various home-made modbus drivers and dataloggers.

I am reading some tags out of a 1756-L75 v32 using Advanced HMI. Everything works terrifically except reading some tags that are defined by add on instructions. Our customer wants us to use the Rockwell Process Library Objects (Plant PAX) add on instructions in the PLC program and they have tags with hundreds of members, some of which themselves are of add-on-defined type, so they are nested.  I normally try to keep things as simple as possible ... this is different.

I have tried to narrow down what exactly in these tags is causing the problem with no success, all of the tags of UDT types I create myself I can read.  I've tried UDTs with strings, nested UDTs, kilobytes of arrays, it all works. The error that occurs when reading the Rockwell AOI instances is a privilege violation which actually comes back from the controller as that message is displayed in wireshark.  I have verified the tags are read/write.  Oddly enough there is one Plant PAX AOI that does read successfully, P_Gate.

I have attached a zip with
1. the control logix PLC program in l5k and l5x that has all of the tag type definitions.
2. a wireshark capture where it fails to read the tag of type P_Alarm tag both with read and ReadRaw and then succeeds in reading the tag of type P_Gate.
3. a wireshark capture where it gets the tag list and then tries to read all of the tags in the program with ReadRaw and Read.