Author Topic: Entering negative value on default HMI keypad  (Read 1048 times)

Jaguar

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 55
    • View Profile
Entering negative value on default HMI keypad
« on: July 01, 2022, 09:24:12 AM »
I am using the default keypad to enter value in digital panel meter. Want to enter negative value. Noticed that the keypad does not have any button for negative sign.
Would appreciate your help or input!

bachphi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 643
    • View Profile
Re: Entering negative value on default HMI keypad
« Reply #1 on: July 06, 2022, 12:47:28 PM »
Hint: Keypad min value
===================================================
This is NOT alt.read.my.mind.
No such thing is sh^t-for-brains unless you are posting to alt.read.my.mind.
===================================================

Jaguar

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 55
    • View Profile
Re: Entering negative value on default HMI keypad
« Reply #2 on: July 08, 2022, 12:47:22 PM »
I did that in properties of Digital panel meter, KeypadMinValue set to -50. That did not work.

Then went to Control folder and located the vb code of digital panel meter. Found this code,
Region "Keypad popup for data entry"
    Private KeypadPopUp As MfgControl.AdvancedHMI.Controls.Keypad"


Could not find any vb code of keypad separately. I stopped there.

bachphi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 643
    • View Profile
Re: Entering negative value on default HMI keypad
« Reply #3 on: July 08, 2022, 02:33:36 PM »
What version are you using?
Worked for me with v399yBeta38.
===================================================
This is NOT alt.read.my.mind.
No such thing is sh^t-for-brains unless you are posting to alt.read.my.mind.
===================================================

Jaguar

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 55
    • View Profile
Re: Entering negative value on default HMI keypad
« Reply #4 on: July 08, 2022, 03:09:38 PM »
This is the version I see AdvancedHMIv399xR1

bachphi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 643
    • View Profile
Re: Entering negative value on default HMI keypad
« Reply #5 on: July 08, 2022, 04:53:22 PM »
You are  brave enough to try the latest version, right?
===================================================
This is NOT alt.read.my.mind.
No such thing is sh^t-for-brains unless you are posting to alt.read.my.mind.
===================================================

Jaguar

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 55
    • View Profile
Re: Entering negative value on default HMI keypad
« Reply #6 on: July 09, 2022, 08:18:07 PM »
I can do that. Meanwhile, I searched the forum and found that Godra one time responded to similar question by others. Here what he wrote,
"Some controls might still be using that old keypad.

If you edit the code of the control then you can find the section where the "Keypad" is declared and just change it to "KeypadV2", save it and rebuild the solution. This KeypadV2 looks different than the one in your picture.

If it still doesn't allow you to enter negative numbers then try setting its KeypadMinValue and KeypadMaxValue properties."

I went to to DigitalPanelMeter.vb and changed  Private KeypadPopUp As MfgControl.AdvancedHMI.Controls.Keypad to keypadV2. Got build error. I think I did not understand what Godra meant.

bachphi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 643
    • View Profile
Re: Entering negative value on default HMI keypad
« Reply #7 on: July 10, 2022, 01:17:16 PM »
Godra may have fallen victim to Covid-19, RIP brother.

===================================================
This is NOT alt.read.my.mind.
No such thing is sh^t-for-brains unless you are posting to alt.read.my.mind.
===================================================

Godra

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1438
    • View Profile
Re: Entering negative value on default HMI keypad
« Reply #8 on: July 10, 2022, 02:00:36 PM »
Thank you bachphi.

Build errors are probably caused by the fact that Jaguar is still using v399xR1.
In this case then try to compare the code of the existing controls that might have a different keypad.

bachphi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 643
    • View Profile
Re: Entering negative value on default HMI keypad
« Reply #9 on: July 10, 2022, 02:26:51 PM »
Hey look, I brought back Godra.  I am glad you are still around!!!
===================================================
This is NOT alt.read.my.mind.
No such thing is sh^t-for-brains unless you are posting to alt.read.my.mind.
===================================================

Godra

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1438
    • View Profile
Re: Entering negative value on default HMI keypad
« Reply #10 on: July 10, 2022, 02:30:18 PM »
Jaguar,

just to make your work easier, you need to rely on Intellisense to show you what controls are available in the solution you are using - this normally pops up as soon as you would start deleting characters from the end of the line and get to the matching substrings.

Look up Intellisense on Google if you are not sure what it does.

Another thing you should do is work with a copy of your solution and once you know that changes might be working properly then apply them to the original solution.

Godra

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1438
    • View Profile
Re: Entering negative value on default HMI keypad
« Reply #11 on: July 10, 2022, 02:37:11 PM »
I will call this "the secrets of bachphi" where powerful spell was cast to bring back the undead.

Jaguar

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 55
    • View Profile
Re: Entering negative value on default HMI keypad
« Reply #12 on: July 11, 2022, 05:12:54 PM »
I downloaded, AdvancedHMIv399yBeta38. Noticed that in the toolbox, AdvancedHMIControls Components, where Digital Panel meters etc. are there, is missing. Should I have to add them?

Jaguar

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 55
    • View Profile
Re: Entering negative value on default HMI keypad
« Reply #13 on: July 11, 2022, 05:53:37 PM »
Never mind. Found them :)