Author Topic: Exit Button on MainMenu  (Read 79 times)

Automatikai

• View Profile
    • Automation Consulting, LLC
Exit Button on MainMenu
« on: April 30, 2024, 11:11:11 AM »
I realize this may be a VS question rather than Advanced HMI, but I am a rookie so bear with me.

I developed an application first using the MainForm, OPC driver, it worked well with an AB emulator. I added a FormChangeButton to Page2, put an OPC driver there and page2 controls also worked fine. I put a FormChangeButton on Page2 back to the MainForm and it didn't close Page2. I also went to the FormChangeControls folder and spent some time  looking at the code trying to figure out how to implement it. For instance, the exit button seems to have a ExitButton_Click Sub but no code inside. It tried using it in that application and it didn't close the forms or application. If I close the MainForm with the "X" I get a StackOverflow.

Next I created a new test application using MainMenu as my startup, MainForm as my startup form, a FormChangeButton to page2, a FormChangeButton back to MainForm. Navigation seemed to work ok, but the forms don't start in the same place. I saw some commented code with MenuPos and assume that helps put forms in the same spot, I will experiment with that later.

But the exit button doesn't close the application or forms. I have seen some help files referencing Me.Close() but when I put that in the ExitButton_Click sub I still get a stackoverflow.

To use Advanced HMI it seems that a deeper knowledge of VB.net and Visual Studio is needed, but short of an intensive bootcamp or school I don't know where to start. The Microsoft and YouTube videos and files I have found all seem to skip the fundamentals also. I have done some work using OOP in Beckhoff so I somewhat understand properties, methods, inheritance etc. but this gets over my head fast. Any suggestions?

Automatikai

• View Profile
Re: Exit Button on MainMenu
« Reply #1 on: April 30, 2024, 11:50:59 AM »