Author Topic: Write Time to PLC  (Read 1523 times)

DavidSr

• View Profile
Write Time to PLC
« on: January 03, 2019, 10:41:33 PM »
As you probably know the PLC 5 clock drifts a bit, Ours gains time and it has no way to directly communicate with an NTP server so. .. I am not a VB programmer so I wondered if ADVHMI has a way to read the PC Clock or poll a NTP server and write the value to the PLC, Of course it would take several writes for each word of the time and date. 

David
David

Phrog30

DavidSr

• View Profile
Re: Write Time to PLC
« Reply #2 on: January 04, 2019, 07:29:36 PM »
Thank You!

I will check that out and let you know--  MC uses pretty much the same format.

------David

David

DavidSr

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: April 07, 2019, 05:03:09 AM »
https://www.advancedhmi.com/forum/index.php?topic=2239.msg12934#msg12934

This may work:

Code: [Select]
Dim localZone As TimeZone = TimeZone.CurrentTimeZone
'
AddHandler SystemEvents.TimeChanged, AddressOf SystemEvents_TimeChanged

Private Sub SystemEvents_TimeChanged(ByVal sender As Object, ByVal e As EventArgs)
      'Occurs when user manually changes the time or due to daylight saving time.                 
       Dim daylight As DaylightTime = localZone.GetDaylightChanges(DateTime.Now.Year)
       If localZone.IsDaylightSavingTime(DateTime.Now) Then           
            'If daylight.Start = DateTime.Now Or daylight.End = DateTime.Now Then
                'DST occur write to PLC
                PLC.Write("B3:0/14", 1)                 'TimeChange Enable bit
                PLC.Write("N9:3", DateTime.Now.Hour)
                PLC.Write("N9:4", DateTime.Now.Minute)
                PLC.Write("N9:5", DateTime.Now.Second)
                PLC.Write("B3:0/14", 0)
            'End If
       End If
End Sub

Trying to get a handle on this from that post: I want to grab the PC clock time which is updated every day from  time server   tick.usno.navy.mil or  tock.usno.navy.mil