Author Topic: Advanced HMI and Click CPU  (Read 4773 times)

BobbyS

• View Profile
Advanced HMI and Click CPU
« on: February 14, 2015, 02:54:54 PM »
Hi, noob here.

I have a Click plc connected to my pc with AutomationDirect usb cable and adapter. I have not been able to get HMI to communicate with my Click. I tried the example with a timer but I get a message above the digital readout that says"cannot connect to plc".

I programmed a simple timer and loaded it into the plc. Made sure it ran ok, then disconnected my programming software from the plc. I then tried the example in the quick start guide but cannot get it to work and do not know why. I gave the timer an address of 345057 in HMI. Is there something more that I am not doing?

Is there a way to know that the HMI is connected before trying to run the example? I am not sure where I am going wrong.

Thanks ahead if anyone can help!

Archie

• Administrator
    • View Profile
    • AdvancedHMI
Re: Advanced HMI and Click CPU
« Reply #1 on: February 14, 2015, 03:17:52 PM »
Try this:

- Add a ModbusRTUCom to your form and set the PortName, BaudRate, DataBits, Partity, and StopBits to exactly what you have in the Click programming software
- Add a BasicLabel to the form
- Set the properties PLCAddressValue and PLCAddressKeypad both to 40001
- Make sure your programming software is completely closed so AdvancedHMI can get access to the com port
- Run the applicatiom
- Click on the BasicLabel and put in a value
- If everything is correct , the BasicLabel should change to the value you entered

BobbyS

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: February 14, 2015, 03:45:28 PM »
Thank you for the quick response Archie. I will give it a go with your advise. This is such a cool HMI and I know a lot of work is involved. Thanks!

BobbyS

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: February 14, 2015, 04:43:43 PM »