Author Topic: Advanced HMI with Solo Pid Controller from automation direct  (Read 2433 times)

lwaldner

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
Hi, I am new so advanced hmi but I have been fiddling around with it quite a bit and have been very impressed and yes frustrated.... I have gotten the communication with my solo pid controller working perfectly with the Modbus rtu driver... I have read/write access to my Temperature setting value ( so I can set the temp I want) and have read access to the PV or present temperature value
I can also set the power output if running in manual instead of PID (with some issues that I will elaborate on)   
I have done all this using the digital panel meters......worked great but for power output I wanted a vertical slider instead...so I purchased the add on pack..... configured everything and it worked, well sort off..... when I set slider to 100 it only goes to 10 on solo controller (pid has one decimal place so on pid it is 10.0)....
 well I figured this was an easy just change value scale factor under the vertical slider properties..... now this did indeed get my numbers to be the same but now I can only drag the slider up to 10 instead of all the way up to 100.... please help me out...

I also have other issues with communication to certain parameters......... I will attach a screenshot of the addresses that advanced hmi gives me an error on... says address can not start with that number... any help is appreciated thanks


Archie

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5262
    • View Profile
    • AdvancedHMI
Re: Advanced HMI with Solo Pid Controller from automation direct
« Reply #1 on: May 13, 2016, 05:33:36 PM »
Which slider are you using?

I tested this with the VerticalSlider3, set PLCAddressValue and PLCAddressInput both to the same address. I then set the Maximum to 1000

This let me control the value between 0 and 1000, which should translate to 0.0 to 100.0 in your controller

On another unrelated note, you may want to set the PollRateOverride of your driver instance to a low number like 100. This gives the slider a bit more responsive feel.

lwaldner

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
Re: Advanced HMI with Solo Pid Controller from automation direct
« Reply #2 on: May 13, 2016, 06:03:47 PM »
oh I could do that to..... but its not really professional having hmi say 1000 when its only at 100 but if that's my only option? how about those bit register addresses?
« Last Edit: May 13, 2016, 06:05:27 PM by lwaldner »

Archie

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5262
    • View Profile
    • AdvancedHMI
Re: Advanced HMI with Solo Pid Controller from automation direct
« Reply #3 on: May 13, 2016, 06:10:43 PM »
Where are you seeing 1000? On the DigitalPanelMeter, on a slider?

lwaldner

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
Re: Advanced HMI with Solo Pid Controller from automation direct
« Reply #4 on: May 13, 2016, 06:33:20 PM »
I set the maximum on the slider to 1000 which shows the maximum on the slider as 1000

I used  vertical slider 1 because I like that It shows the value
« Last Edit: May 13, 2016, 06:48:04 PM by lwaldner »

Archie

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5262
    • View Profile
    • AdvancedHMI
Re: Advanced HMI with Solo Pid Controller from automation direct
« Reply #5 on: May 13, 2016, 07:32:09 PM »
I see what you are referring to. The values on the scale do not account for the ValueScaleFactor. I'll put this in to resolve it for the next release.

I use the VerticalSlide3, but also put a BasicLabel above it to show the current value.

lwaldner

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
Re: Advanced HMI with Solo Pid Controller from automation direct
« Reply #6 on: May 13, 2016, 08:20:54 PM »
any idea about the 2049 Modbus addresses? thanks for the help btw

Archie

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5262
    • View Profile
    • AdvancedHMI
Re: Advanced HMI with Solo Pid Controller from automation direct
« Reply #7 on: May 13, 2016, 08:29:49 PM »
I am going to guess the 2049 is an offset for a coil, which means the address needs a preceding 0. So try 02049

lwaldner

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
Re: Advanced HMI with Solo Pid Controller from automation direct
« Reply #8 on: May 14, 2016, 02:35:11 PM »
that worked perfect thanks :).... but now I have another question......
my pid has a couple different control modes but the two i'm interested in using are
PID control
Manual control

lets say the Modbus address for control mode is 40098. Each control mode is assigned a number and that is what you enter into temp controller to choose your control mode

so lets say Manual control is "0"
Pid control is "2"

how would I be able write one of those two numbers to pid using a selector switch? thanks

Archie

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5262
    • View Profile
    • AdvancedHMI
Re: Advanced HMI with Solo Pid Controller from automation direct
« Reply #9 on: May 14, 2016, 02:41:39 PM »
One method to do this is to use 2 BasicButtons like this:

- Add a BasicButton
- Set Text to Manual
- Set OutputType to WriteValue
- Set ValueToWrite to 0
- Set PLCAddressClick to 40098
- Set PLCAddressHighlight to 40098
- Add another BasicButton
- Set Text to PID
- Set OutputType to WriteValue
- Set ValueToWrite to 2
- Set PLCAddressClick and PLCAddressHighLight to 40098

lwaldner

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
Re: Advanced HMI with Solo Pid Controller from automation direct
« Reply #10 on: May 21, 2016, 08:57:05 PM »
oh btw this worked perfectly. thanks for the help