Author Topic: Omron Host Link and getting started  (Read 2214 times)

Ecoli-557

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 25
    • View Profile
Omron Host Link and getting started
« on: April 05, 2018, 12:43:02 PM »
Good Morning All-
I have just found Advanced HMI and I am curious where I can go to be able to place a button and a light on the screen and have it set/reset a bit or read a bit in the CS1 PLC.
I have not found where it explains how I can set the object to the word and bit in the PLC.
For example; I have a 96 input which is words 0-5 and a 96 output which is words 6-11.  Where do I put the 5.6 in the programming to equate an input on the screen to the 7th bit of the 6th word?
Is there a manual somewhere to set this up with examples?  The quick start does not speak to the Host link which I know is older, but that is all that I have at this point.
Any help to get started would be of immense help.
Regards to All.

Archie

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5269
    • View Profile
    • AdvancedHMI
Re: Omron Host Link and getting started
« Reply #1 on: April 05, 2018, 07:15:10 PM »
- The CS1 supports FINS, so add an OmronFINSEthernetCom to the form if using Ethernet or add an OmronSerialFINSCom if using RS232, then set the properties accordingly
- Add a BasicLabel to the form , then set PLCAddressValue to 5.6
- Run the application

Ecoli-557

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 25
    • View Profile
Re: Omron Host Link and getting started
« Reply #2 on: April 06, 2018, 01:41:48 PM »
Thanks Archie.  Will do.  I used the other serial link driver but will try this one.
What I am trying to do is to equate a pilot light to a specific bit and set a specific bit to a pushbutton to a specific bit.
This is to see how the HMI will work with specific bits......
Regards.

Ecoli-557

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 25
    • View Profile
Re: Omron Host Link and getting started
« Reply #3 on: April 07, 2018, 10:22:32 AM »
Archie,  How do I use a basic button?
Where do I equate the PLC direct address to the object on the form?
I do not see a PLC address for this object, I see adress click, address text.....
I realize this is basic, but I cannot find any examples for this and would greatly appreciate any assistance in getting started in just setting up a single pushbutton and a pilot light both based on an address in the PLC.
Regards.

Archie

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5269
    • View Profile
    • AdvancedHMI
Re: Omron Host Link and getting started
« Reply #4 on: April 07, 2018, 10:29:40 AM »
Buttons control bits specified by PLCAddressClick and act on them as selected by OutputType

Ecoli-557

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 25
    • View Profile
Re: Omron Host Link and getting started
« Reply #5 on: April 07, 2018, 03:15:18 PM »
Thanks!  I got it.  Works!  How do I change color of the button based on an input bit?
Lastly, how do I make simple circles that respond to inputs by changing color?
That will allow me to actually start 'playing' a bit (no pun).
Thanks for the help - this is looking quite powerful.

Archie

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5269
    • View Profile
    • AdvancedHMI
Re: Omron Host Link and getting started
« Reply #6 on: April 07, 2018, 03:35:33 PM »
Thanks!  I got it.  Works!  How do I change color of the button based on an input bit?
The BasicButton has a PLCAddressHighlightX property. When set to a valid PLC address and its value goes true, the button will change to the color specified in HighlightColor
Lastly, how do I make simple circles that respond to inputs by changing color?
You can do this with the BasicInidicator. Another possibility is to use the GraphicIndicator and give it two bitmap files to switch between based on PLCAddressValueSelect1

Ecoli-557

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 25
    • View Profile
Re: Omron Host Link and getting started
« Reply #7 on: May 18, 2018, 06:26:09 PM »
Is there a way to:
1. Create a log file from the com port to look at later to determine what is being transferred?  In ASCII or HEX?
2. 'Draw' lines of varying width and colors on the screen?

What is the difference in OMRON Serial FINS and OMRON Serial Host Link?
I have looked at the 2 in the programming book but don't know why one is better than the other?
Assumption is that FINS is newer??

Thanks in advance, it is starting to click now.......

Ecoli-557

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 25
    • View Profile
Re: Omron Host Link and getting started
« Reply #8 on: May 22, 2018, 05:20:33 PM »
OK, I am temporarily giving up on Serial FINS.....
Have a new project, Omron Serial HostLink is my serial comm method.  9600, 7, E, 2, COM2 (as before with FINS serial).
Have just 1 basic button. PLCAdress click is 6.0, PLCAdress HighlightX is 0.0 (as before with FINS serial).
When I click on the button, expecting to hear a relay click I get 'OMRON ERROR' on the button.
What do I check?
« Last Edit: May 22, 2018, 05:24:41 PM by Ecoli-557 »

Archie

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5269
    • View Profile
    • AdvancedHMI
Re: Omron Host Link and getting started
« Reply #9 on: May 22, 2018, 05:40:44 PM »
There is more to the error.... Add a BasicLabel to the form and set both PLCAddressValue and PLCAddressKeypad to 0.0, then see if it shows the complete error. If not, click the label and enter 1 to see if it only gives the error during a write.


Is 0.0 a physical input on the PLC?

Ecoli-557

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 25
    • View Profile
Re: Omron Host Link and getting started
« Reply #10 on: May 22, 2018, 05:41:36 PM »
From the OUTPUT:
Exception thrown: 'MfgControl.AdvancedHMI.Drivers.Common.PLCDriverException' in MfgControl.AdvancedHMI.Drivers.dll
Exception thrown: 'MfgControl.AdvancedHMI.Drivers.Common.PLCDriverException' in MfgControl.AdvancedHMI.Drivers.dll

Ecoli-557

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 25
    • View Profile
Re: Omron Host Link and getting started
« Reply #11 on: May 22, 2018, 05:43:08 PM »
Sorry Archie, paths crossed.
Yes, there is 0.0 and 6.0.
These were the same as with me testing the FINS serial.
Will do as you asked - give me a minute or 2.

Archie

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5269
    • View Profile
    • AdvancedHMI
Re: Omron Host Link and getting started
« Reply #12 on: May 22, 2018, 05:45:06 PM »
If 0.0 is a physical input, the HMI is not going to be able to override what the input does. You will need to use an address that is not a physical input.

Ecoli-557

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 25
    • View Profile
Re: Omron Host Link and getting started
« Reply #13 on: May 22, 2018, 05:46:42 PM »
Label comes up FALSE and I entered '1' in the keypad, accepted and an error dialog window popped up:
'Failure to write value - Omron Error response Not executable in RUN mode'

Ecoli-557

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 25
    • View Profile
Re: Omron Host Link and getting started
« Reply #14 on: May 22, 2018, 05:50:38 PM »
I removed the 0.0 from the button used for feedback.  Still gives OMRON ERROR.
I can see the polling working as the TX and RX LEDs on the USB interface are flashing - just as they did in my FINS serial testing.
What else can I check?  ANd again, thanks for the interest!