Author Topic: Omron for dummies ..  (Read 8720 times)

gjervig

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
  • Chaos, Panic and Disorder, My work here is done...
    • View Profile
Omron for dummies ..
« on: January 19, 2015, 02:32:21 PM »
Hi .,

I like the concept .. but im having trouble getting it to work.

I have en Omron cj1 with ethernet and just trying the basic gauge projekt and i cant seem to get in touch with the plc.

Should i have CX-server running? and whats the addressing scheme ?

Best regards
Frank .,
« Last Edit: January 22, 2015, 01:43:07 PM by gjervig »

Archie

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5269
    • View Profile
    • AdvancedHMI
Re: Omron for dummies ..
« Reply #1 on: January 19, 2015, 02:48:44 PM »
The drivers are completely independent, so no server or OPC driver is needed.

If using Ethernet:

- Add OmronFINSEthernetCom to your form from the Toolbox
- In the Properties window, set the IP address of your controller
- Add a BasicLabel to your form from the Toolbox
- In the properties window, set PLCAddressValue to D0
- Run the application

gjervig

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
  • Chaos, Panic and Disorder, My work here is done...
    • View Profile
Re: Omron for dummies ..
« Reply #2 on: January 19, 2015, 03:39:24 PM »
thanks for the quick reply..

That is basicly what i did ., but i still have nothing displayed from my plc..

Im not really sure what BasicLabel does.. is it just shutting down comms when window isnt at the front?

Best Regards
Frank .,

Archie

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5269
    • View Profile
    • AdvancedHMI
Re: Omron for dummies ..
« Reply #3 on: January 19, 2015, 04:06:53 PM »
Do you have anything else communicating to the PLC, such as CX Programmer? I found that my CP1 has problems if I try to run CX Programmer and AdvancedHMI at the same time.

The BasicLabel simply shows the value of the memory in the PLC. If you put an address in PLCAddressKeypad, then you can write to the register by clicking the BasicLabel while the application is running?

When you run the app, do you get anything at all in your BasicLabel?

gjervig

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
  • Chaos, Panic and Disorder, My work here is done...
    • View Profile
Re: Omron for dummies ..
« Reply #4 on: January 20, 2015, 12:47:51 PM »
Hi again ..

Well i am a newbie with advanced HMI, and that piece of info abt the basiclabel got me a bit further, now i know that i can write the PLC with the keypadaddress, but apparently i cant read values.. BasicLabel, just say BasicLabel when running..

i know that older omrom plc dont like beeing online with 2 computers at the same time via Serial over ethernet, but i seems that with CJ1 over ethernet, CX-P and Advanced HMI isnt any problems..

Do you have any clues to getting AH to read out values from my PLC ?

Best Regards ..
Frank .,

Archie

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5269
    • View Profile
    • AdvancedHMI
Re: Omron for dummies ..
« Reply #5 on: January 20, 2015, 01:04:49 PM »
I haven't tested with a CJ controller, only a CP1 and a C200. So I can only assume the protocol is the same FINS protocol.

Are you using Ethernet or serial? If you are using Ethernet, then doing a Wireshark packet capture could give me a clue as to why nothing is being returned.

Have you tried different addresses such as D0, 0, or 0.1?

gjervig

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
  • Chaos, Panic and Disorder, My work here is done...
    • View Profile
Re: Omron for dummies ..
« Reply #6 on: January 20, 2015, 03:14:09 PM »
Hi .,
Ive tried different addresses with no luck in reading..

Ive done a wireshark capture but i dont really know what u need, but this is what it came up with..

---

BUT .. when i tried setting keypad up to W100 i noticed a flaw, when i input 3 or more the software sends a different number to PLC , if i send 9 PLC say 0 .. ?? this dosnt happen when i send to W101 or D100 .. HUH..

Best Regards
Frank.,


gjervig

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
  • Chaos, Panic and Disorder, My work here is done...
    • View Profile
Re: Omron for dummies ..
« Reply #7 on: January 20, 2015, 03:36:15 PM »
Regarding the flaw .. my memory was incorrect .. this is how it plays ..

AH - PLC
1 - 1
2 - 2
3 - 3
4 - 0
5 - 1
6 - 2
7 - 3
8 - 0
9 - 1
10 - 2
11 - 3
100 - 96
101 - 97
102 - 98
103 - 99
104 - 96

But still only at W100, not W101 -Strange..

Archie

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5269
    • View Profile
    • AdvancedHMI
Re: Omron for dummies ..
« Reply #8 on: January 20, 2015, 04:47:36 PM »
Check the driver properties to see if "TreatAsHex" is set to True

gjervig

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
  • Chaos, Panic and Disorder, My work here is done...
    • View Profile
Re: Omron for dummies ..
« Reply #9 on: January 20, 2015, 04:49:40 PM »
its set to False ..

gjervig

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
  • Chaos, Panic and Disorder, My work here is done...
    • View Profile
Re: Omron for dummies ..
« Reply #10 on: January 20, 2015, 05:05:04 PM »
Should BasicLevel be able to display bit values? when i set it to bit addresses like W1.01 it tells me "input string was not in a correct format".

~~Frank .,

gjervig

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
  • Chaos, Panic and Disorder, My work here is done...
    • View Profile
Re: Omron for dummies ..
« Reply #11 on: January 20, 2015, 05:19:31 PM »
Hi ., again .. :-)

Heres a little more to think about .. when i placed a BasicButton calling PLC address 200.00 . And runs project and presses button. VB goes in Debug FINSBaseCom.vb ..

Best Regards
Frank ..


Archie

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5269
    • View Profile
    • AdvancedHMI
Re: Omron for dummies ..
« Reply #12 on: January 20, 2015, 05:39:37 PM »
I looked closer at your Wireshark captures and the second packet is just an acknowledge. The PLC never responded with any data. Could it be something to do with TargetNetworkAddress and TargetNodeAddress properties?

I just tested a read/write to W100 using a CP1H and it responded with the data. I have both addresses set to 0.

Archie

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5269
    • View Profile
    • AdvancedHMI
Re: Omron for dummies ..
« Reply #13 on: January 20, 2015, 05:41:31 PM »
Regarding the flaw .. my memory was incorrect .. this is how it plays ..

AH - PLC
1 - 1
2 - 2
3 - 3
4 - 0
5 - 1
6 - 2
7 - 3
8 - 0
9 - 1
10 - 2
11 - 3
100 - 96
101 - 97
102 - 98
103 - 99
104 - 96

But still only at W100, not W101 -Strange..
I'm not seeing this on my CP1H. It seems like something is being interpreted as BCD, but the driver does not use BCD.

Archie

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5269
    • View Profile
    • AdvancedHMI
Re: Omron for dummies ..
« Reply #14 on: January 20, 2015, 05:52:03 PM »
Hi ., again .. :-)

Heres a little more to think about .. when i placed a BasicButton calling PLC address 200.00 . And runs project and presses button. VB goes in Debug FINSBaseCom.vb ..

Best Regards
Frank ..
I did find a bug causing this. I fixed it for version 3.97d