Author Topic: Importing forms from one project into the AdvancedHMI Solution  (Read 3101 times)

busarider29

• View Profile
Importing forms from one project into the AdvancedHMI Solution
« on: January 21, 2015, 03:00:37 PM »
I am new to Visual Studio and TwinCAT 3.  I have already started on my HMI in VS2012 and have quite a bit of it done and working already (on the HMI side of things).  I want to add the Advanced HMI stuff to my solution but from my understanding, I can't take stuff from the AdvancedHMI solution and drop into my project?  So, what is the way to import my forms and code from my Solution into the AdvancedHMI solution, then rename the solution/project?  Thank you.  By the way, I'm glad I found this site.  A lot of good info and support here for what I'm working on.  Will be helpful in the coming months as I work on this project. 

Archie

• Administrator
    • View Profile
    • AdvancedHMI
Re: Importing forms from one project into the AdvancedHMI Solution
« Reply #1 on: January 21, 2015, 03:31:08 PM »
To import existing forms into an AdvancedHMI project:

- Right click AdvancedHMI in Solution Explorer
- Select Add->Existing
- Browse to the .vb files for your existing forms

A note about the TwinCAT driver. Version 3.97 of AdvancedHMI has a TwinCAT driver that was completely rewritten, so there still may be some bugs. A new version of V3.97d will be posted later tonight that includes a few bugs uncovered in the driver.

Another important detail to know about the TwinCAT driver is that it does not use the AMS router. The side effect of this is that you cannot run the HMI on the PC that was used to program TwinCAT. If the HMI is run on a PC that was used to program, then the TwinCAT runtime will reroute the message to the incorrect port, therefore AdvancedHMI will never receive it's replies.