Author Topic: Problem connecting AdvancedHMI to AB Micrologix 1200  (Read 5389 times)

toan08

• View Profile
Problem connecting AdvancedHMI to AB Micrologix 1200
« on: December 15, 2015, 06:15:23 PM »
This is a cool software, and I'm fairly new to the PLC world.  I used AdvancedHMI to create a simple software, and it works perfectly with RSLogix 500 along with the Emulator and virtual ports.  My problem is when I load up the software at school, it won't connect to the actual hardware Micrologix 1200, which is directly connected to the PC via serial port.  I checked RSLinx and the device uses COM1, so I changed DF1Com1 in visual studio to COM1 as well, but that didn't do anything.

How do you connect AdvancedHMI to Micrologix 1200?  My final semester is right around the corner, and this software will help me create a custom touchscreen HMI, but before I get there, I need to solve this connection problem.  Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Archie

• Administrator
    • View Profile
    • AdvancedHMI
Re: Problem connecting AdvancedHMI to AB Micrologix 1200
« Reply #1 on: December 15, 2015, 07:34:11 PM »
Did you completely shut down RSLinx so the driver can get access to the COM port?

toan08

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: December 15, 2015, 11:05:19 PM »
At one point, I'm pretty sure I shut down RSLinx by clicking on the X (not exactly sure what you mean by a complete shut down).  I thought you need RSLinx running in order to establish a connection to the Micrologix 1200.  So if I need to download a program to the device, I would have to run RSLinx initially and download the program.  Next, I would have to shut down RSLinx, and maybe restart everything, at this point don't run RSLinx at all so the driver gets full access to the COM port.  I want to make sure the controller has my program so when I run the HMI application, everything functions accordingly.

Thanks for the advice.  I will try again and post with updates.

Archie

• Administrator