Author Topic: Modbus TCP communication  (Read 1279 times)

Holmux

• View Profile
Modbus TCP communication
« on: January 01, 2019, 07:30:47 AM »
Hi All

Programming PLC's for over 20 years, with ton of serial comm and never used Modbus :) I guess that's from mainly using AB PLC's.

Anyway I have this load cell module with Modbud TCP, where I would like to do some communication via the AdvancedHMI, I have been reading ton of manuals the last few days but is still stuck :( If I was a hardcore Modbus expert I guess the manual that came with the module would be easy to decode, but for a Newbie it is not black and white.

From what I understand, I send a request to the module and it replies with the data I was asking for, for example to get the Gross weight out of the module I will have to send "GG" to the module and it will return the value of the Gross weight.

If anyone could point me in the right direction, it would make my start at the new year a lot easier :)

Here is a link to the module i am trying to communicate with: https://www.flintec.com/electronics/weight-indicators/dad-141-1

Happy New year
/Holmux

Archie

• Administrator
    • View Profile
    • AdvancedHMI
Re: Modbus TCP communication
« Reply #1 on: January 01, 2019, 07:56:49 AM »
According to the manual the gross weight is a floating point value at index 2000 hex (8192 decimal). This would be read as a holding register, so the address would start with a 4. Since it is a float and not the normal 16 bit integer that Modbus is based on, you will need an address modifier of F". Modicon addresses start at 1, so the index/offset needs to add 1. So the final address to use would be:

F48193

Or with version 3.99y

48193@F
« Last Edit: January 01, 2019, 08:28:34 AM by Archie »

bachphi

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: January 01, 2019, 08:11:46 AM »
Does he need to send GG command?
===================================================
This is NOT alt.read.my.mind.