Author Topic: I'm new. I'm lost. AutomationDirect Terminator IO ebc  (Read 1600 times)

mikehell

• View Profile
I'm new. I'm lost. AutomationDirect Terminator IO ebc
« on: March 20, 2019, 06:33:52 AM »
Hi. I'm new to all of this, and somewhat lost.

I've taken on a project that has Automation Direct Terminator I/O  connected via Ethernet to a computer running Kepware 4.x.  I'm rewriting software that will simply turn bits (relays) on and off synced to music. Nothing complex really.

I went down the rabbit hole of trying g to do it through an OPC server like KepDirect, but then stumbled on onto this, which seems like it would work better and be cheaper (currently running in an old XP box that will be replaced with something newer and require a newer KepDirect version).

Problem is that the addressing currently uses naming such as S0:DO1. (slot zero , discreet output one). Can't figure out the correct addressing. 

Problem two is that I can't seem to even connect to the control box.  I know what port it's using. Wireshark sees stuff going back and forth.  But attempting to run something like modscan on it, it will not connect. 

With AHMI I'm using the modbus tcp drivers. I can get it to work just fine with a modbus simulator, but it just craps out when connected to the automation direct box. I know it's gotta be something simple I'm missing.

Thanks for the help!

Mike

Archie

• Administrator
    • View Profile
    • AdvancedHMI
Re: I'm new. I'm lost. AutomationDirect Terminator IO ebc
« Reply #1 on: March 20, 2019, 07:55:50 AM »
I will assume you are using a T1H-EBC100. Looking at the manual on pages 4-5 through 4-9 it shows the Modicon style addresses. The coil addresses would need to be prefixed with a 0, everything should work as designated in the chart.

It looks like the first discrete input would be addressed as 10001

Phrog30

« Reply #2 on: March 20, 2019, 08:25:40 AM »