AdvancedHMI Software

General Category => Support Questions => Topic started by: AabeckControls on July 01, 2015, 09:27:43 AM

Title: Is Version 398s Complete?
Post by: AabeckControls on July 01, 2015, 09:27:43 AM
When I decided to start my project fresh, I downloaded AdvancedHMI V398s. Opened it, Built it, started my project (for AB SLC 5/04 using DF1).

I reconstructed the main screen, with 2 Form Change buttons (but not assigned to a from yet) then added 2 forms, reconstructed the 2 forms as normal, then when I wanted to assign which form to open to the Change Form buttons, I did a Rebuild. & got a lot of errors in MfgControl.AdvancedHMI.Controls & .Drivers - when I went to the Debug folder in Explorer there were no such files.

I copied the file from the V398g folder to V398s, reopened VS & tried to rebuild again, but got 60 errors: (doesn't seem to be compatible versions)

After the errors I tried to reopen all 3 pages & got VS errors, had to click Ignore & Continue, but then got 3 empty screens, all reverted to default size 300x300, no background color, no objects at all.
Title: Re: Is Version 398s Complete?
Post by: Archie on July 01, 2015, 09:30:19 AM
Did you add a driver to the form before adding any controls (even the FormChangeButton)?
Title: Re: Is Version 398s Complete?
Post by: AabeckControls on July 01, 2015, 09:37:49 AM
Yes, the first thing I did when I created a form & when I started on the main form was add the DF1 driver & check the properties of it. As I created an object I made sure it use the DF1 & added the correct Visible, Click & Value points as appropriate.
Title: Re: Is Version 398s Complete?
Post by: Archie on July 01, 2015, 09:49:06 AM
I just downloaded 398s and added a Df1Com and 2 form change buttons. Then added a new form, went back and set the FormToOpen. Everything worked correctly.

Try this:

- Close Visual Studio
- In Windows Explorer browse to the \AdvancedHMI folder
- Delete both the \bin and the \obj folders
- Browse to the \AdvancedHMIDrivers folder
- Delete both \bin and \obj in that folder
- Delete the same folder in the \AdvancedHMIControls folder
- At the top level solution folder, delete the .sou file   (NOT the sln) Depending on your system settings the sou file may be hidden

This will completely clean your solution of any potential corrupt files.
Reopen the solution in Visual Studio and immediately do a Rebuild Solution
Now try to open your MainForm
Title: Re: Is Version 398s Complete?
Post by: AabeckControls on July 01, 2015, 11:34:18 AM
Followed those steps, opened & Rebuilt, started adding objects to Main, then added second form  called Control - OK so far, as soon as I tried to create a form called System I got 102 errors:
Title: Re: Is Version 398s Complete?
Post by: Archie on July 01, 2015, 11:36:37 AM
The name System creates a huge conflict with the .NET System namespace. Try naming your form something like SystemA
Title: Re: Is Version 398s Complete?
Post by: AabeckControls on July 01, 2015, 11:41:48 AM
Deleted the form System & created MainSystem, added the DF1 driver, Logo, E-Stop Momentary PB; Went back to Main, clicked Rebuild so the forms would show up to go to the ChangeForm buttons & got more errors:
Title: Re: Is Version 398s Complete?
Post by: AabeckControls on July 01, 2015, 11:45:41 AM
Closed VS, went to the folders as above & deleted the folders & solution file, reopened the project, clicked Build & got a bunch of errors about items not in Control
Title: Re: Is Version 398s Complete?
Post by: Archie on July 01, 2015, 12:35:19 PM
I thought maybe some references were removed when a form named System was added, then deleted, but I tried that and all the errors went away after I deleted the form named System.

Download and extract an fresh copy of AdvancedHMI
Open the extracted solution
Build the solution
Right click AdvancedHMI in Solution Explorer and select Add->Existing
Browse to and select MainForm.vb from your other project
Build the Solution and see if you have any errors.
Title: Re: Is Version 398s Complete?
Post by: AabeckControls on July 01, 2015, 12:45:12 PM
Before I got your answer I deleted the project completely, reloaded a new copy of V398s I have in my Download folder, opened it, Built it, Modified MainForm, created 2 new forms using the default names Form1 & Form2, adjusted them OK, Rebuilt to assign the FormChange buttons, OK, went to Form1 & to Toolbox, clicked on Pilot Light & as soon as I clicked on Form1 to add the pilot light: (same thing trying to add a Momentary Button)
Title: Re: Is Version 398s Complete?
Post by: Archie on July 02, 2015, 07:31:58 AM
Did you get any further on this? I've tried many different ways, but can't seem to reproduce this.

I did modify the PilotLight.vb code at line 214 to try to prevent this error:

            While m_CommComponent Is Nothing And i < j
                If Me.Parent.Site.Container.Components(i).GetType.GetInterface("AdvancedHMIDrivers.IComComponent") IsNot Nothing Then
                    If Me.Parent.Site.Container.Components(i) Is GetType(AdvancedHMIDrivers.IComComponent) Then
                        m_CommComponent = DirectCast(Me.Parent.Site.Container.Components(i), AdvancedHMIDrivers.IComComponent)
                    End If
                End If
                i += 1
            End While
Title: Re: Is Version 398s Complete?
Post by: AabeckControls on July 02, 2015, 09:23:53 AM
Just added your change & was able to add a pilot light to the main form OK, but when I tried to add a momentary pushbutton I got a error, tried rebuilding to see if it would then work & got the following errors: 
Title: Re: Is Version 398s Complete?
Post by: AabeckControls on July 02, 2015, 09:35:11 AM
Was able to Rebuild , but when I tried to paste the pilot light on Form1, it automatically added the ethernet driver to the form & in properties won't show the DF1 driver to select it. Deleted the pilot light & the ethernet driver, rebuilt & same. Deleted the light & all comm drivers, re-added the DF1, rebuilt & still adds the ethernet driver & can only select the ethernet driver. Sitll error when try to add momentary PB on either form.
Title: Re: Is Version 398s Complete?
Post by: Darrell on July 02, 2015, 10:56:28 AM
Had a bit of time to kill so I Built a HMI with V398s  and tried to replicate what was being described above , and did not get any errors, was not connected to a PLC at the time. Using VB Studio pro 2013.
Darrell
Title: Re: Is Version 398s Complete?
Post by: AabeckControls on July 02, 2015, 12:50:23 PM
Went to repair another machine & when I got back (without changing anything since the above PilotLight code) not getting any errors at all now.

Guess it just wanted to be a headache???
Title: Re: Is Version 398s Complete?
Post by: AabeckControls on July 02, 2015, 10:10:22 PM
Must be something with the computer. Have VS Community 2013 installed on it  (Win7 PRO) & my home system (Win8.1 PRO) and, like Darrell, have no such issues on the home system - have tried everything I couldn't do on the work computer & everything works at home. Need to check the work computers setup to see if I can find anything on it that's wrong.
Title: Re: Is Version 398s Complete?
Post by: Archie on July 02, 2015, 10:27:20 PM
I was starting to think a corrupt VS install or a .NET framework install problem. I have seen those errors before, but they have always cleared when rebuilding the solution.
Title: Re: Is Version 398s Complete?
Post by: AabeckControls on July 03, 2015, 02:53:35 AM
Archie,

Will re-install VS tomorrow, and try & see if .NET can be repaired, or deleted & re-installed.

Thanks.
Title: Re: Is Version 398s Complete?
Post by: AabeckControls on July 03, 2015, 03:20:32 PM
Repaired the installation of all .NET entries that Uninstall would do, repaired the installation of VS Community 2013 with the DVD.  Most items work now, no crashing - but a few indicator lights on the MainForm are blinking On/Off constantly (whether they should be On or Off). When I close the debugging the window shows LOTS of "A first chance exception of type 'System.IndexOutOfRangeException' occurred in AdvancedHMIDrivers.dll" with a bunch of other errors before that.

See attached Notepad copy of the beginning of the file, left off many lines of the same "first chance..."
Title: Re: Is Version 398s Complete?
Post by: Archie on July 03, 2015, 06:05:41 PM
What addresses are you using on the indicators that are blinking?
Title: Re: Is Version 398s Complete?
Post by: AabeckControls on July 03, 2015, 07:43:54 PM
B3:100/3 to B3:104/6 & a couple of B53:6/xx
Title: Re: Is Version 398s Complete?
Post by: Archie on July 03, 2015, 08:40:25 PM
I put 12 labels on a form covering the range of those addresses and every value stays solidly True or False until I change them in the PLC. There must be another address or something on your form that is causing some kind of "cross talk".

However I did find the cause of the exception you were seeing. I made a patch to fix that. Install the patch, then we'll start with it to try to figure out the other problem.

- Download the file  MfgControl.AdvancedHMI.DriversV398sForDf1Only.zip
https://sourceforge.net/projects/advancedhmi/files/advancedhmi/3.5/Patches/

- Extract the file
- Replace the file in AdvancedHMIDrivers\Support  with the extracted file
- Rebuild the Solution
Title: Re: Is Version 398s Complete?
Post by: AabeckControls on July 04, 2015, 01:47:31 AM
Downloaded the update, will try that Monday.

As for the blinking pilot light & indicator lights, I have tried changing the bits between Normally On and Normally Off in the PLC & it didn't make a difference. Not all the lights blink in that range.  The bits are not used more than once in the PLC or HMI, and are not flickering in the PLC. Going to try & move the bits Monday to an unused word in B3:.
Title: Re: Is Version 398s Complete?
Post by: AabeckControls on July 04, 2015, 02:45:29 AM
installed the update on my home (8.1PRO) system & when I tried to Rebuild I got 3 Failed's with the attached list of errors.
Title: Re: Is Version 398s Complete?
Post by: AabeckControls on July 04, 2015, 02:51:41 AM
After I closed the output window I got the following list:
Title: Re: Is Version 398s Complete?
Post by: AabeckControls on July 04, 2015, 03:08:09 AM
Had to re-download the zipped file & copied original MfgControl.AdvancedHMI.Drivers, but noticed (back to the original title of this thread) the AdvancedHMIBetaV398s.zip\AdvancedHMI\bin\Debug folder is empty in the download.
Title: Re: Is Version 398s Complete?
Post by: Archie on July 04, 2015, 08:09:37 AM
Had to re-download the zipped file & copied original MfgControl.AdvancedHMI.Drivers, but noticed (back to the original title of this thread) the AdvancedHMIBetaV398s.zip\AdvancedHMI\bin\Debug folder is empty in the download.
When downloading a fresh copy, all of the bin\Debug and obj directories are deleted in order to reduce the download size. Once you do the first Build, all those files and directories are created.

Looks like that patch isn't going to work because there are other changes made to the Omron drivers that make it incompatible. I am preparing a new version to post tomorrow. The biggest revisions are made to the Omron driver, but it does roll up some patches made to other drivers. I was hoping to resolve the issue you are having before the release, but I think we will have to wait until tomorrow to start with the next release and get a patch to fix the issue you are seeing.
Title: Re: Is Version 398s Complete?
Post by: AabeckControls on July 06, 2015, 02:41:24 PM
Changed ALL the read bits to B3:116/x & B3:117/x throughout the project & changed the outputs in the PLC & nothing is blinking at all. System is working as it should but still getting a list of errors when close debugging.
Title: Re: Is Version 398s Complete?
Post by: Archie on July 06, 2015, 02:57:00 PM
Did you get a chance to try version 3.98t? It was just posted late last night.
Title: Re: Is Version 398s Complete?
Post by: AabeckControls on July 06, 2015, 03:01:56 PM
Haven't downloaded that yet.

When I do: are there steps to import my existing project to Ver t or do I have to start from scratch?
Title: Re: Is Version 398s Complete?
Post by: Archie on July 06, 2015, 03:21:43 PM
After you download, extract, and open the newest version:

- Build the project
- Right Click on the AdvancedHMI project in Solution explorer
- Select Add->Existing Item
- Browse to and select the Mainform.vb from your previous project
- Repeat for each form you added to the solution
Title: Re: Is Version 398s Complete?
Post by: AabeckControls on July 06, 2015, 05:32:40 PM
That makes it easier.

Now, is there a way to have vertical text in a tall FormChange button? Searched the forum for "vertical" & only got 2 hits about graphics. Tried adding spaces between letters but impossible to line up text neatly & can't add Carriage Returns between letters.
Title: Re: Is Version 398s Complete?
Post by: Archie on July 06, 2015, 07:41:16 PM
If you click in the Text property, you will get a drop down arrow. You can click that to do multiple lines of text and put each letter on its own lone. You can then use TextAlign to play around with the alignment.
Title: Re: Is Version 398s Complete?
Post by: AabeckControls on July 06, 2015, 08:38:42 PM
Opened Version t, built AdvancedHMI, went to ADD/Existing Item, added all 10 forms & a new MainForm, rebuilt the project with 2 Successful's & 1 Failed, & when I tried to open each of the pages I got an error page saying ChangeForm was not valid, then when I clicked Ignore each page opened with all the objects except no from change buttons on any of them.
Title: Re: Is Version 398s Complete?
Post by: Archie on July 06, 2015, 08:54:04 PM
Is the FormChangeButton in your ToolBox?
Title: Re: Is Version 398s Complete?
Post by: AabeckControls on July 06, 2015, 09:13:34 PM
No, it's not in the toolbox. It is in the Solution Explorer, but when I try to drag it to the toolbox a "+" shows like it's going to copy it there, but doesn't - just a text entry with the path to it. Tried to Rebuild again & same fail. Right Clicked on the FormChangeButton.vb  & can't find Add.
Title: Re: Is Version 398s Complete?
Post by: Archie on July 06, 2015, 09:19:26 PM
Something happened to the FormChangeButton. Try to right click the AdvancedHMI project in Solution Explorer, select Add->Existing, then browse to the FormChangeButton from your previous project.

Also you may want to try to download and extract the solution again. Open it, then Build. Check the ToolBox to make sure the FormChangeButton is there.
Title: Re: Is Version 398s Complete?
Post by: AabeckControls on July 06, 2015, 10:12:17 PM
Tried to Add it before & still can't. Tried to add from Ver s & Ver g unsuccessfully. Re-downloaded Ver t & opened it, built it, ChangeFormButton was in toolbox now.

Added each form & my MainForm, rebuilt & got error 'MainForm' is not a member of 'AdvancedHMI' - repeated a few times with same error.

Deleted project & re-extracted Ver t to folder, everything was fine again until I added an existing page - then the FormChangeButton would disappear from the toolbox & get same error about MainForm. Tried deleting & re-adding MainForm - same. Re-replaced MainForm with original & added all my pages (Form1 to Form10) EXCEPT my MainForm & rebuilt OK, FormChangeButton still there & buttons show on all pages. Rebuilt again with no errors. Then added my MainForm, rebuilt & finally OK. Now I have my full project.