Author Topic: Enabling/Disabling Second ModbusTCP driver with button click  (Read 2543 times)

nickromano07

• View Profile
Hello!  I am creating a UI for a test set where one ModbusTCP (ModbusTcpCom1) driver is always communicating to the controller and on a separate form a second ModbusTCP (ModbusTcpCom2) driver will have its IP configured by the user via a label and be able to enable/disable ModbusTcpCom2 with a button click. This is so that while the form is open but the ModbusTcpCom2 is not needed the application won't send out communication errors.
Changing the IP address was easy enough and that part works fine but I can't seem to enable/disable the second com.

This is my first time using this forum and it seems to be a wealth of knowledge and if anybody can point me in the right direction...........

Thank you!!

Archie

• Administrator
    • View Profile
    • AdvancedHMI
Re: Enabling/Disabling Second ModbusTCP driver with button click
« Reply #1 on: July 21, 2015, 06:55:51 PM »
Setting DisableSubscriptions property to True will disable the updating of controls and subscriptions.

Darrell

• Electrician / PLC Technician
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: July 21, 2015, 08:29:05 PM »
This maybe of some use to someone , I've done this on a few forms for checking modbus addresses,  4 buttons and a textbox , I set the Disable Subscriptions for the driver to true so the form will not be communicating when the form is first loaded,  I click the connect button when I want to start.

(Get Modbus Driver IP Button)   This will get the driver IP and display it in the textbox.
                                              Double Click on button and add this Code:   
Code: [Select]
TextBox1.Text = ModbusTCPCom1.IPAddress
(Change Modbus Driver IP Button) This will get the driver IP from the textbox and will now become your driver IP .
ModbusTCPCom1.IPAddress = TextBox1.Text
(Click to Connect Button) This will Disable comms for this driver