AdvancedHMI Software

General Category => Feature Request => Topic started by: andrew_pj on November 28, 2014, 01:04:51 AM

Title: Redundant CommComponent
Post by: andrew_pj on November 28, 2014, 01:04:51 AM
Dear Archie,

Is there any solution to handle redundant communication?
For example there are 2 ModbusTCP communications.
When no.1 is primary, CommComponent in all components will be ModbusTCPCom1.
When no.2 is primary, CommComponent in all components will be ModbusTCPCom2.

I am thinking about putting Script in Timer:
1. Declaring all components and set its CommComponent according to primary indication
Bottleneck: if there are a lot of components, the script will be very long
2. Modify ModbusTCPCom IP Address based on primary indication.
So, there will be only 1 ModbusTCPCom instantiated in the program.
Bottleneck: not sure if this solution is feasible. And, if CommComponent is different (example TCP and RTU), this solution might not work.


Best regards,
Andrew
Title: Re: Redundant CommComponent
Post by: ianfinlay_aus on September 04, 2015, 11:13:34 PM
Hi,
Have you progressed at all with this redundancy feature?
I am trying to do something similar (by trying to do modbus device discovery) to find  a modbus device ID (which isnt known)
Ian
Title: Re: Redundant CommComponent
Post by: andrew_pj on September 08, 2015, 01:51:54 AM
Hi,
Have you progressed at all with this redundancy feature?
I am trying to do something similar (by trying to do modbus device discovery) to find  a modbus device ID (which isnt known)
Ian

You may use the 2nd method.
Modify ModbusTCPCom IP Address based on primary indication.

You only need to create one ModbusTCPCom.
Use DataSubscriber component to get the primary indication.
Write script to assign IP address to ModbusTCPCom based on primary indication.