Author Topic: Floating Numeric display  (Read 1468 times)

TCE

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Floating Numeric display
« on: March 07, 2023, 02:45:51 PM »
I am looking for a numeric display that I could assign a floating PLC address to. the best one i found is the Sevensegment2 which would be okay if value could be centered. is there any other object similar to the sevesegment2 i could use?

Archie

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5262
    • View Profile
    • AdvancedHMI
Re: Floating Numeric display
« Reply #1 on: March 07, 2023, 02:53:16 PM »
Any object that has the property PLCAddressKeypad can have values entered by clicking on the object

TCE

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Re: Floating Numeric display
« Reply #2 on: March 07, 2023, 03:24:58 PM »
thanks Archie
now how do i use a PLC address in a code without assigning it to an object

Archie

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5262
    • View Profile
    • AdvancedHMI
Re: Floating Numeric display
« Reply #3 on: March 07, 2023, 03:56:49 PM »
Do you want to read a PLC value in code?

TCE

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Re: Floating Numeric display
« Reply #4 on: March 07, 2023, 04:33:46 PM »
Yes what I'd like to do is. Read the value from the PLC without assigning it to an AHMI object and create an action with code instead of writing logic in the PLC. Can I do this in the background when AHMI is not running? for instance: Sending an email on an alarm without have to open the exe file. I am trying to get away from having to do it in the PLC as I have a lot of numeric values to monitor within groups with different setpoint for each group and alarms for each individual numeric value as set its group.

Archie

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5262
    • View Profile
    • AdvancedHMI
Re: Floating Numeric display
« Reply #5 on: March 07, 2023, 05:25:09 PM »
Which driver are you using?

TCE

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Re: Floating Numeric display
« Reply #6 on: March 07, 2023, 05:35:43 PM »
ModbusTcp

Archie

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5262
    • View Profile
    • AdvancedHMI
Re: Floating Numeric display
« Reply #7 on: March 07, 2023, 05:54:55 PM »
        Dim MyValue As Integer = ModbusTCPCom1.Read("40001")

TCE

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Re: Floating Numeric display
« Reply #8 on: March 07, 2023, 06:44:08 PM »
how do i do a floating integer

Archie

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5262
    • View Profile
    • AdvancedHMI
Re: Floating Numeric display
« Reply #9 on: March 07, 2023, 06:48:42 PM »
how do i do a floating integer
Dim MyValue As single = ModbusTCPCom1.Read("40001@F")

lpou

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Re: Floating Numeric display
« Reply #10 on: April 18, 2023, 12:08:44 PM »
What code do I have to use to read floating point numbers and also double integers with omron plc with the OmronEthernetFinsCom driver?.

I tried the following code, but it doesn't work, I get the error "The string entry is not formatted correctly"
         Dim ValueFloat As Single = EthernetFins_ST60.Read("D2000@F")
         Dim ValueDint As Integer= EthernetFins_ST60.Read("D2000@L").

Archie

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5262
    • View Profile
    • AdvancedHMI
Re: Floating Numeric display
« Reply #11 on: April 18, 2023, 12:38:31 PM »
What code do I have to use to read floating point numbers and also double integers with omron plc with the OmronEthernetFinsCom driver?.

I tried the following code, but it doesn't work, I get the error "The string entry is not formatted correctly"
         Dim ValueFloat As Single = EthernetFins_ST60.Read("D2000@F")
         Dim ValueDint As Integer= EthernetFins_ST60.Read("D2000@L").
Are you using version 3.99y?

lpou

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Re: Floating Numeric display
« Reply #12 on: April 18, 2023, 01:04:18 PM »
No, I'm using the latest version 3.99x

Archie

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5262
    • View Profile
    • AdvancedHMI
Re: Floating Numeric display
« Reply #13 on: April 18, 2023, 01:06:21 PM »
No, I'm using the latest version 3.99x
Try the version 3.99y Beta from this forum. I think it supports the @F with the Omron driver

lpou

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Re: Floating Numeric display
« Reply #14 on: April 18, 2023, 01:56:15 PM »
With version 3.99y it works fine. Since I have made my application with version 3.99x, it is possible to implement it in an easy way in version 3.99x, to perform readings of double integer and floating numbers, and not have to change all the program I have made to version 3.99y.