Author Topic: Cylinder With 2 Signals  (Read 3829 times)

PLC_Guy

• View Profile
Cylinder With 2 Signals
« on: July 25, 2015, 06:13:03 PM »
Hi

I'm new to this software but ive been trying to improve on a function, the hydraulic cylinder.

i was looking to be able to
- have 2 inputs from the PLC with one for extended, one for retract
- from this you could develop errors if both are on or none are on.

AabeckControls

• View Profile
Re: Cylinder With 2 Signals
« Reply #1 on: July 27, 2015, 04:04:54 PM »
Since the hydraulic cylinder is analog, you would do the calculations in the PLC. If IN set the value to 0, if OUT set the value to 100 (or your max setting) & have the PLC check to make sure both are not on, if so set a bit & have an object on the HMI become visible or change color.

Being a cylinder there will probably be times the cylinder is neither IN nor OUT while travelling, I would check that both were off after a time delay to give the cylinder time to reach the other limit, then turn on a warning bit.

PLC_Guy

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: July 28, 2015, 08:55:19 AM »
Ya i was thinking i could do something like that,

i was just thinking ahead in case i wanted to make other changes to objects, i wasn't sure how to do this.

AabeckControls

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: July 28, 2015, 06:11:16 PM »
I haven't tried it yet, something I just thought of:

For the hydraulic cylinder set the Minn to 0 & the Max to 1 and for the value look at a binary bit. Going to fire this up tomorrow & see if this works.

Then you could try [bit] AND NOT [bit2] - not sure if an AND would work either, another test tomorrow.

AabeckControls

• View Profile
« Reply #4 on: July 29, 2015, 06:42:07 AM »
Found out there are 2 hydraulic cylinders - regular (binary) & analog. The analog will not read a bit like I thought of before, gives an error, but the regular one does read a binary bit for value & if true extends the shaft out.