Author Topic: Writing Data to ControlLogix  (Read 804 times)

derrickjp7

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Writing Data to ControlLogix
« on: May 10, 2019, 11:21:41 AM »
Hey,

I'm very new to Advanced HMI. I've found some relevant information to my questions on the forums, but none of it is quite bridging the gap. So I apologize if this has been addressed before.

I'm wanting to write data to my plc. I've figured out how to use MomentaryButtons and DigitalMeters (local and global). Now, I'm trying to write a REAL or FLOAT value. Specifically I have a X and Y value going into separate tags for a coordinate location. From what I gather I need to use a KeyboardInput in conjunction with a Button and modified code? Am I on the right track? If so...the code part I'm gonna struggle with. I know AB but not so much VB. Would anyone be able to give examples of how you would do this as well as writing different types of data (ie. DINT, SINT, ect)?

Also, is there a general "how to" area within the forum or website on how to do simple functions with Advanced HMI? I feel like most problems I'm running into (and fixing after scouring through forums) could be addressed with a tutorial 101 if there is such a thing. Other than the Set Up video/doc I haven't came across much else.

Thanks for the help guys!

Archie

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5269
    • View Profile
    • AdvancedHMI
Re: Writing Data to ControlLogix
« Reply #1 on: May 10, 2019, 11:38:12 AM »
- Add a BasicLabel to the form
- Set both PLCAddressValue and PLCAddressKeypad to the tag you want to write to
- Run the application
- Click on the label and a keypad will popup to let you write any data type

derrickjp7

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Writing Data to ControlLogix
« Reply #2 on: May 10, 2019, 12:03:59 PM »
So I wasn't on the correct path, ha. Will this work for any type of data?

Thanks Archie

Archie

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5269
    • View Profile
    • AdvancedHMI
Re: Writing Data to ControlLogix
« Reply #3 on: May 10, 2019, 12:07:16 PM »
Yes, it will work with any type of data. You can also change from a keypad to keyboard for string data. Or you can even type on the physical keyboard.

derrickjp7

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Writing Data to ControlLogix
« Reply #4 on: May 10, 2019, 12:22:22 PM »
That's awesome, thank you!

For my second question, is there a "how to" or tutorial area anywhere? Or is that you? Haha

Archie

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5269
    • View Profile
    • AdvancedHMI
Re: Writing Data to ControlLogix
« Reply #5 on: May 10, 2019, 12:32:20 PM »
There are some limited How-To's on the documentation site, but they tend to be more advanced tasks:

https://advancedhmi.com/documentation/index.php?title=Main_Page

Most of the information is buried in this forum.