Author Topic: Newbie Questions about DataSubscriber2 and IPAddress  (Read 3353 times)

hileta

• View Profile
Newbie Questions about DataSubscriber2 and IPAddress
« on: February 25, 2016, 05:24:52 PM »
Hello everyone,

Let me start off by saying that I am not trying to be a schmooze but I am extremely impressed by HMIAdvanced and the amount of support in the Forums as I have been developing my first distribution and reading through the topics. I am an experienced Controls Engineer but new to VB as when I went to school Quick Basic was all that was offered and I haven't had the time to get back into it since.

I have a scenario where there are 5 different CLX processors on 5 different machines, but all with modular programming and running the exact same portion of code that I wish to access. There is a base program called say 'Data_x' which uses only program level tags with some aliasing to a few controller level tags for I/O and 'Data_x' is called up to four times in the PLC with different instances (Data_1, Data_2...). I need one screen to display about 80 strings and 80 DINTs plus a few other objects. The screen should be identical between the machines. My goal is to develop one screen and set the IP Address for the CLX and the prefix (program name) of the tags with a button push. I could then have only one form but parameterized by 20 buttons. Is something like this possible?

I have tried to pass the IPAddress into the Sub but keep bombing out when m_IPAddress is for some reason blank. I sucessfully get it to the 2nd form but the EthernetIPforCLXCom stops and throws an error.