Author Topic: Simultaneous Connections to Controllogix  (Read 2610 times)

simon k

• View Profile
Simultaneous Connections to Controllogix
« on: April 07, 2016, 05:49:38 AM »
Hi, I am new to Advanced HMI, but can already see that it is a great solution to many of the problems I have! well done!

However, I need to connect to two ControlLogix PLCs at the same time, from the same form. I spent a lot of time checking and rechecking that I have not made any mistakes, and I just can't figure out the problem.

I made the simplest form that I could based on the solution downloaded in AdvancedHMIBetaV399d

the 2 PLCs are a test PLC (192.168.0.81) and a live PLC (192.168.1.8 ). The test PLC has a tag address "Test_Bool" that is set to 1. The live PLC has a tag address "Sorting_Room_Puffers_Auto_En" that is also set to 1.

I placed a PilotLight control on the form, and allowed it to automatically create an EthernetIPforCLXCom driver. I then set the IP of the driver to my test PLC (192.168.0.81). I set the PLCAddressValue of the PilotLight to my test address (Test_Bool). I debugged the application and the pilotlight read the value and turned on faultlessly. I restarted the application several times and the pilotlight always came on.

I then changed the IP address of the driver to the address of the live PLC (192.168.1.8 ). I set the PLCAddressValue of the pilotlight to the required address (Sorting_Room_Puffers_Auto_En). I tested this in the same way and the pilot light always came on.

I changed the IP of the driver and the tag of the pilotlight back to that of the test PLC and retested to be sure

I then placed another PilotLight on the form, and allowed it to create another EthernetIPforCLXCom driver. I set the IP of the driver to my live PLC, and the address of the PilotLight to the live address.