Author Topic: Read temperature in AdvancedHMI  (Read 1237 times)

Jaguar

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 55
    • View Profile
Read temperature in AdvancedHMI
« on: February 12, 2019, 10:40:20 AM »
Could any of you direct to me a video or link to know how to read temperature in AdvancedHMI.

I would appreciate very much.

dmroeder

  • Global Moderator
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 208
    • View Profile
Re: Read temperature in AdvancedHMI
« Reply #1 on: February 12, 2019, 10:50:07 AM »
Could any of you direct to me a video or link to know how to read temperature in AdvancedHMI.

I would appreciate very much.

Can you elaborate more?  What device are you trying to read temperature from?

Jaguar

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 55
    • View Profile
Re: Read temperature in AdvancedHMI
« Reply #2 on: February 12, 2019, 10:59:12 AM »
We are measuring temperature of a device on 8 areas through thermocouples. The device is turned ON/OFF by A/B controller. In AdvancedHMI we input the time the device will be ON/OFF and how many cycles the device should run. Now we are measuring temperature through a datalogger. My intent is whether we can show the temperatures on the screen of HMI. All above is part of a reliability test program.

Thanks,

Archie

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5270
    • View Profile
    • AdvancedHMI
Re: Read temperature in AdvancedHMI
« Reply #3 on: February 12, 2019, 11:06:29 AM »
Does your data logger have any kind of communication capabilities such as ModbusTCP?

Jaguar

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 55
    • View Profile
Re: Read temperature in AdvancedHMI
« Reply #4 on: February 12, 2019, 11:15:21 AM »
I have to check Archie. It is an Agilent Datalogger, Model 34970A. It certainly has RS232 interface.

Archie

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5270
    • View Profile
    • AdvancedHMI
Re: Read temperature in AdvancedHMI
« Reply #5 on: February 12, 2019, 11:27:57 AM »
You could use something like this:

https://www.advantech.com/products/a67f7853-013a-4b50-9b20-01798c56b090/adam-6018/mod_6b2e9791-1f24-49c9-9e66-a8d192578c15

and let AdvancedHMI be the data logger as well as the temperature display.

Jaguar

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 55
    • View Profile
Re: Read temperature in AdvancedHMI
« Reply #6 on: February 12, 2019, 01:59:39 PM »
Thanks Archie! I looked at the link you sent. It has only 8 channels. It may work now. However, in future if we need more channels to be monitored, we have to purchase another one. In your view Agilent 34970A will not work? It has built-in GPIB and RS232 interfaces.

Archie

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5270
    • View Profile
    • AdvancedHMI
Re: Read temperature in AdvancedHMI
« Reply #7 on: February 12, 2019, 02:14:47 PM »
I did not see anything on the details of the protocol used over the RS232 port. If it is a proprietary protocol, you could read from it if you want to get deep into writing some VB code.

I did see there is a converter that will convert it to Modbus:

http://www.protoconvert.com/Portals/0/AgilentModbusGateway/ProtoConvertAgilent_ModbusGatewayDatasheet.pdf

Jaguar

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 55
    • View Profile
Re: Read temperature in AdvancedHMI
« Reply #8 on: February 12, 2019, 03:49:44 PM »
Thanks Archie!  I looked at the link you sent. It is a good solution. I have to look at the price. Then what is the next step? Would you please direct me to some write up or link, how to read the data to HMI screen? My knowledge about HMI is minimal. Being an EE background, I know little bit of VB code. Otherwise, I work in totally different field, Reliability Engineer. I would appreciate your or anyone's help very much.

Archie

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5270
    • View Profile
    • AdvancedHMI
Re: Read temperature in AdvancedHMI
« Reply #9 on: February 12, 2019, 04:11:41 PM »
- Add a ModbusRTUCom driver to the form
- Set the properties to match that of the device, such as Com port and baud rate
- Add a BasicLabel to the form
- Set PLCAddressValue to the Modbus address that maps to the temperature you want (e.g. 40001)
- Run the application

Jaguar

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 55
    • View Profile
Re: Read temperature in AdvancedHMI
« Reply #10 on: February 12, 2019, 04:47:01 PM »
Thank you very much Archie! I will update you here how the project goes.