AdvancedHMI Software

General Category => Support Questions => Topic started by: gjervig on January 19, 2015, 02:32:21 PM

Title: Omron for dummies ..
Post by: gjervig on January 19, 2015, 02:32:21 PM
Hi .,

I like the concept .. but im having trouble getting it to work.

I have en Omron cj1 with ethernet and just trying the basic gauge projekt and i cant seem to get in touch with the plc.

Should i have CX-server running? and whats the addressing scheme ?

Best regards
Frank .,
Title: Re: Omron for dummies ..
Post by: Archie on January 19, 2015, 02:48:44 PM
The drivers are completely independent, so no server or OPC driver is needed.

If using Ethernet:

- Add OmronFINSEthernetCom to your form from the Toolbox
- In the Properties window, set the IP address of your controller
- Add a BasicLabel to your form from the Toolbox
- In the properties window, set PLCAddressValue to D0
- Run the application
Title: Re: Omron for dummies ..
Post by: gjervig on January 19, 2015, 03:39:24 PM
thanks for the quick reply..

That is basicly what i did ., but i still have nothing displayed from my plc..

Im not really sure what BasicLabel does.. is it just shutting down comms when window isnt at the front?

Best Regards
Frank .,
Title: Re: Omron for dummies ..
Post by: Archie on January 19, 2015, 04:06:53 PM
Do you have anything else communicating to the PLC, such as CX Programmer? I found that my CP1 has problems if I try to run CX Programmer and AdvancedHMI at the same time.

The BasicLabel simply shows the value of the memory in the PLC. If you put an address in PLCAddressKeypad, then you can write to the register by clicking the BasicLabel while the application is running?

When you run the app, do you get anything at all in your BasicLabel?
Title: Re: Omron for dummies ..
Post by: gjervig on January 20, 2015, 12:47:51 PM
Hi again ..

Well i am a newbie with advanced HMI, and that piece of info abt the basiclabel got me a bit further, now i know that i can write the PLC with the keypadaddress, but apparently i cant read values.. BasicLabel, just say BasicLabel when running..

i know that older omrom plc dont like beeing online with 2 computers at the same time via Serial over ethernet, but i seems that with CJ1 over ethernet, CX-P and Advanced HMI isnt any problems..

Do you have any clues to getting AH to read out values from my PLC ?

Best Regards ..
Frank .,
Title: Re: Omron for dummies ..
Post by: Archie on January 20, 2015, 01:04:49 PM
I haven't tested with a CJ controller, only a CP1 and a C200. So I can only assume the protocol is the same FINS protocol.

Are you using Ethernet or serial? If you are using Ethernet, then doing a Wireshark packet capture could give me a clue as to why nothing is being returned.

Have you tried different addresses such as D0, 0, or 0.1?
Title: Re: Omron for dummies ..
Post by: gjervig on January 20, 2015, 03:14:09 PM
Hi .,
Ive tried different addresses with no luck in reading..

Ive done a wireshark capture but i dont really know what u need, but this is what it came up with..

---

BUT .. when i tried setting keypad up to W100 i noticed a flaw, when i input 3 or more the software sends a different number to PLC , if i send 9 PLC say 0 .. ?? this dosnt happen when i send to W101 or D100 .. HUH..

Best Regards
Frank.,

Title: Re: Omron for dummies ..
Post by: gjervig on January 20, 2015, 03:36:15 PM
Regarding the flaw .. my memory was incorrect .. this is how it plays ..

AH - PLC
1 - 1
2 - 2
3 - 3
4 - 0
5 - 1
6 - 2
7 - 3
8 - 0
9 - 1
10 - 2
11 - 3
100 - 96
101 - 97
102 - 98
103 - 99
104 - 96

But still only at W100, not W101 -Strange..
Title: Re: Omron for dummies ..
Post by: Archie on January 20, 2015, 04:47:36 PM
Check the driver properties to see if "TreatAsHex" is set to True
Title: Re: Omron for dummies ..
Post by: gjervig on January 20, 2015, 04:49:40 PM
its set to False ..
Title: Re: Omron for dummies ..
Post by: gjervig on January 20, 2015, 05:05:04 PM
Should BasicLevel be able to display bit values? when i set it to bit addresses like W1.01 it tells me "input string was not in a correct format".

~~Frank .,
Title: Re: Omron for dummies ..
Post by: gjervig on January 20, 2015, 05:19:31 PM
Hi ., again .. :-)

Heres a little more to think about .. when i placed a BasicButton calling PLC address 200.00 . And runs project and presses button. VB goes in Debug FINSBaseCom.vb ..

Best Regards
Frank ..

Title: Re: Omron for dummies ..
Post by: Archie on January 20, 2015, 05:39:37 PM
I looked closer at your Wireshark captures and the second packet is just an acknowledge. The PLC never responded with any data. Could it be something to do with TargetNetworkAddress and TargetNodeAddress properties?

I just tested a read/write to W100 using a CP1H and it responded with the data. I have both addresses set to 0.
Title: Re: Omron for dummies ..
Post by: Archie on January 20, 2015, 05:41:31 PM
Regarding the flaw .. my memory was incorrect .. this is how it plays ..

AH - PLC
1 - 1
2 - 2
3 - 3
4 - 0
5 - 1
6 - 2
7 - 3
8 - 0
9 - 1
10 - 2
11 - 3
100 - 96
101 - 97
102 - 98
103 - 99
104 - 96

But still only at W100, not W101 -Strange..
I'm not seeing this on my CP1H. It seems like something is being interpreted as BCD, but the driver does not use BCD.
Title: Re: Omron for dummies ..
Post by: Archie on January 20, 2015, 05:52:03 PM
Hi ., again .. :-)

Heres a little more to think about .. when i placed a BasicButton calling PLC address 200.00 . And runs project and presses button. VB goes in Debug FINSBaseCom.vb ..

Best Regards
Frank ..
I did find a bug causing this. I fixed it for version 3.97d
Title: Re: Omron for dummies ..
Post by: gjervig on January 21, 2015, 03:32:07 PM
Hi .,

Im sure i havnt got anything im my program that could change the value beeing sent to W100 .. and the numbers just dont match up with BCD hex or anything..

Reading values from PLC ., Network and Node is set to 0 and the only thing ive changed in PLCs ethernetsetup is IPaddress ..

Ill try with another CJ1 one of the next days ..

Best Regards
Frank .,
Title: Re: Omron for dummies ..
Post by: gjervig on January 22, 2015, 11:38:11 AM
Hi .,
I found another Omron CJ1 PLC with ethernet... and in hope to get a little further ive tried connecting with the serial driver but VB starts debugging with this screen:

Best Regards
Frank
Title: Re: Omron for dummies ..
Post by: Archie on January 22, 2015, 12:01:36 PM
When you get that exception, hover over ex1 and see what ex1.message shows
Title: Re: Omron for dummies ..
Post by: gjervig on January 22, 2015, 01:04:58 PM
Input string was not in a correct format..

In the Driver, ive changed speed to 9600 and COM1 to COM3 nothing else..
Title: Re: Omron for dummies ..
Post by: Archie on January 22, 2015, 01:49:05 PM
If you are using bit address, try D0.

Bit addressing will be fixed in Version 3.97d
Title: Re: Omron for dummies ..
Post by: gjervig on January 22, 2015, 02:02:29 PM
Im only using BasicLabel and D0..
Title: Re: Omron for dummies ..
Post by: Archie on January 22, 2015, 02:57:07 PM
I'm not seeing this occur with version 3.97d. This version will be available for download tonight. Try it to see if you still have the problem.
Title: Re: Omron for dummies ..
Post by: gjervig on January 22, 2015, 03:33:16 PM
. ,im looking forward to this ., :-)
Title: Re: Omron for dummies ..
Post by: gjervig on January 23, 2015, 03:16:26 PM
Hi .,

Ive download the new 397d release and glad to say something works :-)

For the time beeing im online using Hostlink setting in PLC  and Serial FINS driver in AHMI and able to read and write values. (whats the difference between youre hostlinkdriver and serialFINS?)

I might have found the reason why i wasnt able to read values on W100 the other day and i has to do with connection speed. it seams that when connection at 9600 Baud its not fast enough to read all memorys.. right now connecting at 115200 it reads 5 DM and 5 WM with no problems, but if i reduce speed to 9600 it will only read 5DM and no WM, using BasicLabel

Maybe it has to do with the order you read PLC memory ..

~~Frank . ,
Title: Re: Omron for dummies ..
Post by: Archie on January 23, 2015, 03:47:53 PM
That's good news that it is working fr you now. It was a problem that crept in during some changes to make AdvancedHMI able to run on Linux and Mac.

The HostLink driver is for the older controllers such as the C200 series. The FINS is for the newer models.

Thanks for the feedback and patience in getting this worked out
Title: Re: Omron for dummies ..
Post by: gjervig on January 24, 2015, 03:56:54 PM
im not out of the woods just yet..

Ive continued adding components to my test project.. and im still having strange behavior.

The scenario is im having

4 BasicLabel reading and writing D0, D1, D100 And D101
5 BasicLabel reading and writing W0, W1, W99, W100 and W101
Theese are working ..
Then i add One BasicButton1, Toggle 0.00 Highlight 1.00
And now BasicButton1 work too...

Then i add BasicButton2 Click 0.01 Highlight 1.01, and one more BasicButton3 Click 0.02 and Highlight 1.01
BasicButton1 highlight on 1.00 dosnt work, instead Button1+2+3 ALL highlight on 1.01..

Adding more Basic Buttons all highligting on 1.01 ..

Im Sorry to say .. it still needs a little work :-)

~~Frank .,
Title: Re: Omron for dummies ..
Post by: Archie on January 25, 2015, 05:50:15 PM
Then i add One BasicButton1, Toggle 0.00 Highlight 1.00
And now BasicButton1 work too...

Then i add BasicButton2 Click 0.01 Highlight 1.01, and one more BasicButton3 Click 0.02 and Highlight 1.01
BasicButton1 highlight on 1.00 dosnt work, instead Button1+2+3 ALL highlight on 1.01..

Adding more Basic Buttons all highligting on 1.01 ..
This one is related to the communication optimizer. The driver attempts to group multiple subscriptions into a single read, then parses the response out and sends to the appropriate subscriptions. Apparently this is not working for bits.

Unfortunately I won't have access to an Omron controller until after Friday. I really need one to see how the response to a multiple bit read looks.
Title: Re: Omron for dummies ..
Post by: gjervig on January 26, 2015, 04:10:32 PM
., Ive waited 6 years for this ., i think i can do a couple more days :-)

~~Frank .,
Title: Re: Omron for dummies ..
Post by: Archie on February 03, 2015, 08:26:16 PM
Download and extract this attachment, then replace the one in AdvancedHMIDriver\Omron\FINS
Title: Re: Omron for dummies ..
Post by: sunny on February 08, 2015, 03:11:47 PM
Hello

It looks like I have the same problem with de hostlink driver. I can read D words and wright D words and bits. But I can not read bits. Can  you help me?